TJ Ryan and Donal OGrady to manage the Limerick senior hurlers

first_imgTJ RYAN AND Donal O’Grady have been tonight ratified as the duo who will spearhead the new Limerick senior hurling management team.At a meeting of the Limerick county board tonight, club delegates ratified the appointments with Ryan set to become the new manager and O’Grady’s role to be focused on coaching the side. Mark Lyons (Kilmallock) and Paul Beary (Na Piarsaigh) come in as selectors.The duo previously worked together when O’Grady was manager of Limerick for the 2011 campaign while Ryan was a selector.That season Limerick lost out to Waterford by a point in the Munster senior semi-final after John Mullane struck a late goal for the Deise.The fought back in the qualifiers to defeat Wexford and Antrim before losing out to Dublin by 3-13 to 0-18 in the All-Ireland quarter-final in July in Thurles.Ryan succeeds John Allen in the Limerick hotseat and the news brings to an end Limerick’s search for a manager – 58 days after 2013 Munster title winning boss Allen stepped down.St Finbarr’s club man O’Grady was previously the manager of Cork in 2003 and 2004, winning the Liam McCarthy Cup in his second season.Ryan lined out for Limerick between 1994 and 2006, playing at corner-forward on the Limerick sides that lost the 1994 and 1996 All-Ireland senior finals to Offaly and Wexford respectively.Limerick’s new senior football manager John Brudair, who succeeds Maurice Horan, was also ratified at tonight’s meeting along with his selection team of Diarmuid Mullins, Brian Carson, Mikey Kiely and Declan Brouder.5 Talking Points – John Allen steps down as Limerick bossJohn Allen steps down as Limerick hurling bosslast_img read more